College-Pages.com
College and University Education Forum
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Is this essential if you have your own business?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:43 am 

I want to start a small business and I am wondering if I should get a degree in business management. I don't really want to delay in getting my business off the ground, but at the same time, I want to do it right. Should I start my business and take an online course, or should I just wait to start my business until I have my degree?

Post subject: Re: Is this essential if you have your own business?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:15 am 

Good question. I think it depends on how much experience you've already got with business.

An awful lot of people who start their own businesses do so without the benefit of a degree. So it can be done! There are tons of resources out there for small business owners, and there is usually a government agency that even offers helpful classes. Maybe you could look into those, and start taking college classes toward a degree, on the side, while you are getting your business off the ground?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:13 pm 

I honestly don't think so. Opening one's own business is going to require more than the business owner anyway. You will most certainly need a lawyer and some other advisers, even for opening the smallest business.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:09 am 

I know of and read about a couple of businessmen who didn't have a business degree but were able to put up a business and it was a success. However, this is not to say that such success stories always happen to all aspiring businessmen...But personally, I think that a crash course, short course or online course on business management is something to be considered. Setting up a business requires more than financial resources or enthusiasm. :)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:32 am